Blue Dot Certification Framework

Blue Dot Certification Framework


Blue Dot Network, OECD

Type(s) of Tool

Rating SystemsProvide quantifiable sustainability ratings and / or certification for projects or assets.


Tools applicable to all sectors

Lifecycle Phase(s)

Project PlanningGeneral strategy for a project’s delivery is developed., Concept DesignTechnical experts broadly outline the project’s basic characteristics., ProcurementThe provision of goods and services to realize a project are tendered and closed., Detailed DesignTechnical experts further elaborate the Concept Design., ConstructionThe asset is constructed in line with design, budget and timeline., Operation and MaintenanceInfrastructure assets are managed and maintained during their use time.

Open Source


Language Availability


Country of Origin


Date of Development



The Blue Dot Network aims to help mobilise private sector investment by identifying and encouraging market-driven, transparent, and sustainable infrastructure projects. It establishes a voluntary, private-sector focused, government-supported project-level certification that aligns with the G20 Principles for Quality Infrastructure Investment, the UN Sustainable Development Goalsthe International Finance Corporation (IFC) Performance Standards, the Equator Principles, the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and the OECD Recommendation on the Governance of Infrastructure. The Blue Dot Certification Framework is currently being piloted on a number of infrastructure projects across different regions and sectors.

Tool Outcome

The BDN Certification Framework helps to identify sustainable infrastructure projects for investors to contribute to satisfying the growing demand for infrastructure assets aligned with ESG criteria. By applying the BDN Certification Framework, infrastructure projects follow robust quality infrastructure standards. The certification also aims to help encourage low- and middle-income countries to implement reforms of their governance systems and regulatory framework to create a better enabling environment for investors.

Sustainability Criteria

The framework consists of 10 BDN elements with two or more themes, with each theme having one or more criteria.

The BDN Framework aligns with a set of essential requirements derived from over 70 commonly applied international standards and frameworks that the OECD has identified through a comprehensive mapping exercise, amongst them:

  • G20 QII Principles
  • IFC Performance Standards
  • SDGs
  • Equator Principles
  • OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises
  • OECD Recommendation on the Governance of Infrastructure

The mapping exercise also included the SuRe-Standard and the FAST-Infra Standard.