BREEAM Communities International Technical Standards

BREEAM Communities International Technical Standards


Building Research Establishment Ltd (BRE)

Type(s) of Tool

Rating SystemsProvide quantifiable sustainability ratings and / or certification for projects or assets.



Lifecycle Phase(s)

Enabling EnvironmentConditions that enable the integration of sustainability practices (regulation, laws, frameworks etc.)., Strategic PlanningPublic authorities identify the needs and long-term vision for infrastructure development.

Open Source


Language Availability


Country of Origin


Date of Development





BREEAM Communities International Technical Standard is a tool to measure and certify and perspectively improve the sustainability of large-scale development plans. The tool assesses projects’ environmental, social and economic performance and provides key target benchmarks that assist decision makers in better understanding the long-term impacts of their projects. Thereby, the tool supports the integration of sustainability principles and goals already during the early planning and design stages of projects. After the assessment, an independent third-party verification takes place and successful projects receive certification.

Tool Outcome

Projects that apply the BREEAM Standard are certified if achieving the threshold. The certified rating reflects the performance achieved by a project and its stakeholders, as measured against the standard and its benchmarks. The BREEAM ratings range from Pass to Good, Very Good, Excellent and Outstanding and it is reflected in a series of stars on the BREEAM certificate. The rating enables comparability between projects and provides reassurance to customers and users, in turn underpinning the quality and value of the asset.

Sustainability Criteria

The tool measures the sustainable value across a broad set of criteria clustered in five categories:
– Governance (4 criteria)
– Social & economic wellbeing (17 criteria)
– Resources & energy (7 criteria)
– Land use & ecology (6 criteria)
– Transport & movement (6 criteria)