DGNB System for Buildings

DGNB System for Buildings


German Sustainable Building Council

Type(s) of Tool

Rating SystemsProvide quantifiable sustainability ratings and / or certification for projects or assets.



Lifecycle Phase(s)

Project PlanningGeneral strategy for a project’s delivery is developed., Concept DesignTechnical experts broadly outline the project’s basic characteristics., Detailed DesignTechnical experts further elaborate the Concept Design., ConstructionThe asset is constructed in line with design, budget and timeline., Operation and MaintenanceInfrastructure assets are managed and maintained during their use time., Decomissioning/RepurposingObsolete infrastructure assets are repurposed, recycled or removed and the land is reused or restored.

Open Source


Language Availability

English, German

Country of Origin


Date of Development





The DGNB System for Buildings is a planning and optimization tool for sustainable buildings. The tool evaluates the environmental, economic, sociocultural / functional, technical and process quality of projects. There are different types of certifications available across the life cycle of buildings: (1) DNGB pre-certification for new constructions, (2) DNGB certificate for new constructions, (3) DNGB certificate for buildings in use (plus a recertification option), (4) DNBG certificate for existing buildings, (5) DNGB certificate for renovated buildings and (6) DNGB certificate for dismantling. Assessments are undertaken by independent, DNGB-trained auditors. DNGB undertakes a final conformity check before the certification is awarded.

Tool Outcome

Depending on the score achieved, there are four different awards levels: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.

Sustainability Criteria

The tool evaluates the sustainability of projects based on the following criteria:
– Effects on the global and local environment (3 sub-criteria)
– Resource consumption and waste generation (3 sub-criteria)
– Lifecycle costs
– Economic development (2 sub-criteria)
– Health, comfort and user satisfaction (7 sub-criteria)
– Functionality / Design for all
– Technical quality (8 sub-criteria)
– Planning quality (4 sub-criteria)
– Construction quality assurance (5 sub-criteria)
– Site quality (4 sub-criteria)