Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS) for Buildings

Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS) for Buildings


Gulf Organisation for Research and Development (GORD´s)

Type(s) of Tool

Rating SystemsProvide quantifiable sustainability ratings and / or certification for projects or assets.



Lifecycle Phase(s)

Project PlanningGeneral strategy for a project’s delivery is developed., Concept DesignTechnical experts broadly outline the project’s basic characteristics., Detailed DesignTechnical experts further elaborate the Concept Design., ConstructionThe asset is constructed in line with design, budget and timeline., Operation and MaintenanceInfrastructure assets are managed and maintained during their use time.

Open Source


Language Availability


Country of Origin


Date of Development





The Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS) is a performance-based system developed for rating green buildings and infrastructures. The primary objective of GSAS is to create a sustainable built environment that minimizes ecological impacts and reduces resource use, considering the specific needs and context of the Middle East and North Africa regions (MENA). The system offers three different certifications: (1) GSAS Design & Build; (2) GSAS Construction Management; and (3) GSAS Operations. All certification procedures include an initial assessment followed by an audit.

Tool Outcome

GSAS Rating indicates the overall achievement of the project and is determined by summing up the individual scores of all criteria. GSAS Design & Build has six ratings based on number of stars ranging from 1 to 6. GSAS Construction Management has five ratings where “Class D” is the lowest and “Class A*” is the highest. GSAS Operations has five ratings with Bronze as the lowest and Diamond is the highest rating. The tool has a calculator, which is a unique and user-friendly computational tool developed to perform the required calculations to generate the criterion level.

Sustainability Criteria

Depending on the individual focus of the different certification types, the assessment evaluates aspects such as (non-exclusive list):
– Urban connectivity
– Environmental impacts on the site
– Energy
– Water
– Material use
– Waste management
– Indoor & outdoor environment
– Cultural & economic value
– Management & operations
– Facility management

Case Studies