Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability

Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability


IFC’s Environmental and Social Performance Standards define IFC clients’ responsibilities for managing the environmental and social risks of their projects. The Performance Standards provide guidance on how to identify risks and impacts and are designed to help avoid, mitigate, and manage them as a way of doing business in a more sustainable way.

How It Works

There are eight Performance Standards categories that help a project minimize its potential social and environmental impacts.

Tool Outcome

Project analysis and identification of mitigation measures to reduce project impacts.

Sustainability Criteria

  • Standard 1: Risk Management
  • Standard 2: Labor
  • Standard 3: Resource Efficiency
  • Standard 4: Community
  • Standard 5: Land Resettlement
  • Standard 6: Biodiversity
  • Standard 7: Indigenous People
  • Standard 8: Cultural Heritage

Additional Information

  • Users of the tool – Project Team, Developers, Financial Institutions, Investors, Local Authorities, General Audience
  • Phase when the tool applies – Finance, Prioritization, Design, Construction
  • Geographic application – Not specified – Applies globally